Lagos NIPR Announces Criteria For Entries, Selection Of LaPRIGA 2022

Lagos NIPR Announces Criteria For Entries, Selection Of LaPRIGA
Lagos NIPR Announces Criteria For Entries, Selection Of LaPRIGA

The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), Lagos State Chapter, has announced the criteria for entries and selection for 2022 Lagos Public Relations Industry Gala and Awards (LaPRIGA), which will be held on Friday, 2 December, 2022, at D’podium, Ikeja, Lagos.

Agency of the Year will go to the firm demonstrating the best use of public relations in the service of clients, highest number of new account wins and the firm whose staff get the most nomination/awards at LaPRIGA.

Practitioner of the Year will go to the person who is considered in at least three areas of public relations, leader of an agency or team which gets the most nominations/awards in LaPRIGA during the year, voted as best by peers.

Best Brand in Storytelling will go to the firm that achieved “success in making the brand’s story part of the national conversation”.

Corporate Communications Professional of the Year will go to the person who shows skill in aligning communication strategies with organisational purpose and values, identifying and addressing communication problems effectively, building and enhancing the organisational reputation.

2022 LaPRIGA Award will have additional six new categories to the scheme. The new awards recognise the growing diversification of public relations into many new areas as one of the essential management disciplines in the modern world.

The new categories are: Best in Technology Public Relation, Best in Public Relation Education, Best in Hospitality PR, Best in Political Communication, Best in Entertainment PR, and the Best Use of Research and Measurement.

Chido Nwakanma, Chairman, Selection Committee, said: “LaPRIGA is growing bolder and more significant because of the interest and commitment of stakeholders. They participate actively and are increasingly showing up at the Gala night.

“We have taken steps to build on and encourage greater participation of stakeholders in LaPRIGA. Members of the NIPR will be at the center of the 2022 Awards in nominations and choice of winners.”

He continued: “We are starting early to enable greater participation. Stakeholders would have at least three months to internalise the categories and criteria, prepare their submission and canvass support. Stakeholders will participate in at least three ways: Nominate prospects in some classes, vote for their preference after short-listing by the awards panel and enlist the sponsorship support of their organizations.”

“Our more stringent criteria demand inclusion and community participation,” he added.

Eniola Mayowa, Secretary, Selection committee, said: “LaPRIGA has become bigger and better. Prior to this time, a winner is chosen based on what is available in the public space; this is what the panel was able to use. But this year, we want the work of people to speak for them because there are some works that are not made open to the public. We want the practitioner to tell us what they have done, like what we used to do previously. It will help us to make the best selection.”